Battle of Kettle Creek


Revolutionary War Image

Revolutionary War Cemetery, Wilkes County, Georgia

The Battle of Kettle Creek, fought here on February 14, 1779, was one of the most important battles of the Revolutionary War in Georgia.

The image, Battle of Kettle Creek, Wilkes County, GA, was originally uploaded at Flickr by Robert 345. It is posted here by barneykin, administrator of “The Revolution flickred” pool.

5 Responses to Battle of Kettle Creek

  1. Mary Clegg Kokot says:

    My great.great,great,great,great-grandfather, Samuel Campbell Clegg, was one of 5 loyalists hung in 1779 for taking part in the Battle of Kettle Creek. I sure am glad he fathered his children before going off to fight. Sorry he was hanged but glad the patriots won the battle. I have enjoyed learning more about the battle and look forward to exploring more of Blogging the Revolution.

  2. Cathy Smith Batchelor says:

    I’m also from that Clegg line! Does give one pause to think about the things we take for granted as Americans today…so glad this page is here.

  3. Beverly Chariton says:

    My gggggg grandfather, James Lindley, I believe was also hung along with Samuel Clegg. Interesting site!

  4. Laura @ BTB says:

    My gggggg ancestor fought at this battle. we just moved to the area, and I took my boys there, today, to see the site. it was amazing.
    powerful. flags from July 4th celebrations I’m sure were still there marking the graves of those still buried at the site.
    Thankful for the remembrance of these individuals and their sacrifice for the United States.

  5. bobbi hatcher says:

    I am 14 years old and i live in Brantly County G.A. my name is Bobbi Hatcher and i and i am doing a rewport on The Battle Kreek. i want to tell all the people who have wrote on this site you really helped me so thank you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

